Remembering 9/11 – a tot school lesson.

9.119/11 was the first nation wide tragedy that I have ever experienced. I can remember the day vividly: crying while watching the news coverage in class , being pulled out by my frantic mother (a US Army Veteran who both explained and demonstrated to me the importance of patriotism at that time), the sense of American pride that I felt for the very first time watching real-life heroes give their lives for others. It is such a blessing to have been alive to see our country unite in the face of terrorism.

In honor of our fallen heroes, I’m teaching my baby girl as much as I believe she can grasp about firefighters. If you’re home/tot schooling a toddler or preschooler, feel free to join me.

Here is our firefighter lesson plan, inspired by those who gave their lives so that others could have theirs:

I found a few songs about firefighters from this awesome site and picked these three that I think she would like. There are a ton, so be sure to visit and pick some for yourself.

I Am A Fireman (sung to: I’m A Little Teapot)
I am a fireman dressed in red.
With my fire hat on my head.
I can drive the firetruck, fight fire too,
And help make things safe for you.

The Firefighter
This firefighter rings the bell. (thumb)
This firefighter hold the hose so well. (index)
This firefighter slides down the pole. (middle)
This firefighter chops a hole. (ring)
This firefighter climbs higher and higher. (pinky)
And all the firefighters put out the fire!

Firefighters Sung to: “Pop Goes The Weasel”
Down the street the engine goes
The Firemen fight the fire
Up the ladder with their hose
Out goes the fire.

I’ve also compiled a playlist of songs and videos about firefighters and firetrucks on YouTube titled “F is for Firetruck”. You can find that here.

Firetruck

To end our lesson, we’ll be doing some fire fighter themed crafts and activities. I thought that these were absolutely adorable!  The first is a hand/footprint craft from funhandprintartblog.com. I’m hoping I can contain this.

ffcraft1

The second is a fun game I found on lalymom.com. I’m sure she’s going to love knocking down these cups. Her godmother, a fire medic, got her a cute plastic firefighter hat last Halloween she can wear while we “fight fires”.

ffcraft2

Follow my Pinterest board, F is for firefighter, for more firefighter crafts and activities.

While my tot is just a little too young for this, you could also schedule a trip to your local fire station. They are always happy to teach kids about fire safety, and if you are lucky you could even have your little one take a tour of the station and maybe even get to ride on a fire truck! I can’t wait until Essie is old enough to do this!

I can’t wait to post pictures of our firefighter day! I hope you all join in on #remembering911 and teaching our children to honor our heroes.

Don't be my toddler. Talk to me. Coherently.

