crafts, diy, featured, mom hacks, pinterest projects, recipes and forkasms, tot school

#NailedIt: How to fix Oeey, Gooey, Sticky Slime

imommao_how_to_fix_gooey_slime_pinterestOriginally, this was supposed to be a cute little “how to make slime” post. It was going to be “pinterest perfect” with a cute little video featuring my sassy daughter. Oh, I had it all planned out, but does anything ever go as planned? It doesn’t in my crazy life, I’ll tell you that much. Pair an exhausted, lazy mom with some baking soda and glue, and you’ll get a hot friggin’ mess.

On top of the fact that I hate to waste money (even the like $5 it took for this project),  I could not bare to let my 3 year old down again. I’d been promising some QT all week and had been working from dawn til’ dusk. I am not ready to be that mom, though I’m not exactly sure how to prevent it at this point. Seriously, when does one finally achieve a balance of work & home?
I digress. Here is the stupid recipe I used:

 

-1 Tbsp of Baking Soda
-1Tbsp of Contact Solution
-4 oz of School Glue

This is the crap we got: Unless you’re going for 90’s style nickelodeon slime, I do not recommend this recipe. Of course you can always try it with  some sort of measuring device, but I ain’t have time for alladat (all of that). I am finally grasping the fact that I could have possibly saved time doing it right the first time, but that only makes sense in hindsight.

 


We fixed our ooey, gooey, messy slime with a tbsp of liquid starch (not cornstarch as I claim in the video).  If you’re starting from scratch, I recommend the following:

Ingredients:
– 1/2 Cup of Elmer’s Washable Non Toxic Clear Glue or White Glue
– 1/2 Cup of Liquid Starch
– 1/2 Cup of Water

  1. Mix the liquid cornstarch with the water. If you want to add a little food coloring, do that now.
  2.  Pour in the starch and start mixing. The slime will start forming soon.
  3.  Use your hands to knead the slime thoroughly.
  4. Pat yourself on the back for not screwing up like we did below:

Watch that video and make a 3 year old girl smile 🙂 She’s been begging to be on YouTube since she could talk. Don’t mind my headless self.  I was too tired (ahem, lazy again) to actually check what I was recording.

I can’t be the only person with some #PinterestFails. Tell me about yours below and maybe I’ll try my hand at them.

Don't be my toddler. Talk to me. Coherently.

