just for mom, mom hacks, new motherhood

9 ways to pamper yourself, even when it seems impossible.

 

In case you missed it, I just posted to Instagram about how I had a really hectic day  on Friday and ended up feeling drained with the end of the day no where in sight. I knew that I had to do something, so I drew myself a quick hot bath and I was surprised to find that something so simple gave me complete life.

Moms tend to get so wrapped up in taking care of our families that we forget to about ourselves. Friday, I was completely depleted with nothing left to give to my kids & an endless to-do list. It was 1 hell of a day after working non-stop for over a month. I woke up at the 5am, completed my paid work by 8 am, got the kids up and at ’em, squeezed in a pre-school lesson for Essie, cleaned house, dropped my husband off at work, went to the grocery store where I realized I left my debit card at home, took my daughter to her ballet & gymnastics classes 1hr away, picked my hubby up from work, & returned to the store for groceries.

·

When we arrived home I sat on the couch & could not move. I was DEAD tired. Dinner still had to be made, the kids had to be prepared for bed, & we were expecting an overnight guest soon. I was contemplating giving up & hiding in my closet with a bottle of wine when it hit me: when was the last time J’nay did something for J’nay? I can’t count the number of days I didn’t have time for a shower, had to snack on scraps of half-eaten PB&J, or just forgotten to feed myself all together. How did I expect to be able to care for my family if I wasn’t caring for myself?

·

I ran myself a hot bath & forced myself to sit & relax for at least 15 minutes. It felt like an almost impossible task to shut my brain off & just focus on me, but I did it. It may not seem like a lot of time, but I stepped out of that tub so rejuvenated that I had the energy to complete the rest of my tasks for the day. I made a promise to myself then, that I would make it a P R I O R I T Y to pamper myself at least once a week. I have officially declared Sundays my #SundayMumday.

·
Today I’ve curled up with a glass of wine, washed my hair, applied a facial mask, & soaked in the tub. This is the only way I know I’ll still have something to give to my family and clients throughout the week. MOMS: What do you do to replenish your energy when you’re just done? I’ve got a new post on the blog with some tips. Link in bio

·

#tiredasamother #instablog #instagood #selflove #selfcare #motherhood #momblogger #clickinmoms #selfiesunday #lifewithkids #momtribe
#mommyproblems

A post shared by J’nay Hector (@imommao) on Aug 6, 2017 at 12:37pm PDT

Being a mom is the most rewarding job, but it’s also the most taxing. Here are some ways you can pamper yourself to help you keep your sanity throughout this crazy beautiful thing we call motherhood, in no particular order.

Pinterest_9_ways_to_pamper_yourself_imommao_mom_blog

 

  1. Soak in a hot bath: It doesn’t have to be  super fancy with bubbles and bath bombs (though those do work wonders). Just soaking in some hot water for about 15-20 minutes while you focus your energy on your breathing could work WONDERS. I didn’t really think that it would help me much,  but in the middle of my downward spiral this past Friday a 15 minute soak helped me keep my peace.
  2. Some shut eye: rest is necessary for everyone, certainly moms. I know that it may seem impossible to ever get a good night’s rest sometimes (especially if your kids are as young as mine). If you can manage, try to take a 30 minute nap on those  hectic days. When that isn’t realistic, you might be surprised to know that just closing your eyes and shutting out any visual stimuli for a few minutes can help you feel more well rested.
  3. Yoga & Meditation: This has been a hard one for me lately, as I haven’t made it a priority and made the time for it in my schedule. When I do set aside the 15-30 minutes to do this in my morning, I definitely feel more energized. When I don’t, I try to just stretch for about 5 minutes sporadically throughout the day. Just as you’re taught in yoga, I focus on my breath and try to release any tension I have. It’s not much, but it helps.
  4. Read: Sometimes, all you need to feel better about yourself is to escape into another world. When life is completely cray, I’m not ashamed to admit I hide in the closet with a glass of wine and a good book. I may only get in a few minutes, but it always makes me feel a little better.
  5. Get some sun:  You don’t have to go to the beach for this. It’s not uncommon for stay at home and work at home moms to get wrapped up in their own world and not see the Sun for days at a time. If you’re feeling a little blue, simply stepping out for some fresh air and a little sun throughout the day can help you find your center.
  6. Read inspiring quotes: sometimes, this is all I need to get me through the day. I search for inspirational quotes on Instagram or Twitter and if I find one that truly speaks to me, I’ll write it on my mirror. Just seeing that when I feel the need to give in to negativity some days helps keep me grounded.
  7. Nourish yourself:  When was the last time you ate something? Drank some water? Food is the source of our energy. I constantly forget to eat. I’ve asked my husband, family, and friends to remind me to eat whenever my mood seems off. I will be the first to admit that I can be one hell of a hangry bitch.
  8. Get dolled up: It’s so easy to get into the habit of throwing your hair in a bun and wearing  yoga pants everyday.  While this can be quick, easy, and comfy something so simple as doing your hair and/or makeup, throwing on some of your best threads, and knowing that you look good can make you feel good.
  9. Take a mental health day: Ok, this might not be so easy but it is SO WORTH IT. If you have the option ask someone close (maybe your SO, your mom/dad, or sibling) to watch the kids for a few hours or a day. Go for lunch with a friend (or go solo), binge on your favorite Netflix show at home in your PJ’s,  or put your phone in priority only mode and get a nap. Do whatever it takes to get you back to you and DON’T feel guilty about asking for help.

What are some of the ways you take charge of your mental health? Let me know in the comments below!

xoxo J’nay

 

Don't be my toddler. Talk to me. Coherently.

